Skip links

The FWAA 75th Anniversary All-American Team

Share Button

The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced its 75th Anniversary All-American team today. As a member, I was privileged to nominate players.

Selecting the team was an enormous and difficult task. Indeed, the third-team running back tandem of Bo Jackson and Doak Walker could just as easily been the first-team backfield. “Picking the FWAA’s 75th Anniversary teams was like taking a final exam with no wrong answers,” said 2015 FWAA President Lee Barfknecht of the Omaha World-Herald. “Even though some answers may be more ‘right’ than others, this will add to the colorful conversation about college football, honor those chosen, and help celebrate the game.”

So true. You have three selections at quarterback. Roger Staubach and Tim Tebow were the two I felt absolutely needed to be in there. Staubach helped redefine the position at the college level, and Tebow consistently impacted games more than most college players that I can remember. My short list for the third spot included Tommie Frazier, Johnny Lujack, and Vince Young. Young made arguably the most memorable play in NCAA history, and he also arguably had the greatest single game performance in history. In my opinion, his career didn’t quite stand up to Frazier’s two national titles and Lujack’s three. I ultimately chose Frazier. Those three qbs made the Anniversary Team’s roster, so I certainly wasn’t alone in my thinking. Who would you have chosen at QB?

I’ve followed football since the end of the 1976 pro season. Two players stand out in my mind as the most dynamic college players that I remember. Reggie Bush and Desmond Howard. Neither of them made the Anniversary Team. Which is what makes these types of things fun. Were Bush and Howard as good as I remember? Did anybody remember Howard’s game-breaking or Bush’s incredible outside speed? Marshall Faulk was another phenomenal guy. I remember him bulldozing for over 200 yards one game — in the first half.

Below is the FWAA 75th Anniversary Team. Check it out and see how your team would differ. More information can be found here.


QB Roger Staubach, Navy Tim Tebow, Florida Tommie Frazier, Nebraska
RB Archie Griffin, Ohio State Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh Bo Jackson, Auburn
RB Herschel Walker, Georgia Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State Doak Walker, SMU
WR Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh Fred Biletnikoff, Florida State Anthony Carter, Michigan
WR Jerry Rice, Mississippi Valley State Randy Moss, Marshall Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech
TE Keith Jackson, Oklahoma Mike Ditka, Pittsburgh Gordon Hudson, BYU
OL John Hannah, Alabama Bill Fralic, Pittsburgh Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL Orlando Pace, Ohio State John Hicks, Ohio State Willie Roaf, Louisiana Tech
OL Will Shields, Nebraska Calvin Jones, Iowa Jerry Sisemore, Texas
OL Ron Yary, USC Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska
C Dave Rimington, Nebraska Chuck Bednarik, Penn Jim Ritcher, N.C. State
DT Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma Merlin Olsen, Utah State Steve Emtman, Washington
DT Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska Randy White, Maryland Reggie White, Tennessee
DE Leon Hart, Notre Dame Hugh Green, Pittsburgh Bubba Smith, Michigan State
DE Ted Hendricks, Miami (Fla.) Bruce Smith, Virginia Tech Jack Youngblood, Florida
LB Tommy Nobis, Texas Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma Jack Ham, Penn State
LB Mike Singletary, Baylor Dick Butkus, Illinois Lee Roy Jordan, Alabama
LB Derrick Thomas, Alabama Luke Kuechly, Boston College Chris Spielman, Ohio State
DB Ronnie Lott, USC Champ Bailey, Georgia Dré Bly, North Carolina
DB Deion Sanders, Florida State Kenny Easley, UCLA Dave Brown, Michigan
DB Jack Tatum, Ohio State Jerry Gray, Texas Troy Polamalu, USC
DB Charles Woodson, Michigan Ed Reed, Miami (Fla.) Roy Williams, Oklahoma
P Ray Guy, Southern Miss Russell Erxleben, Texas Rohn Stark, Florida State
K Kevin Butler, Georgia Mason Crosby, Colorado Tony Franklin, Texas A&M
RS johnny Rodgers, Nebraska Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame Derek Abney, Kentucky


Share Button

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Thinking Out Loud — The Super Bowl 50 Golden Team | The Game Before The Money
  2. Darren McFadden was a better college running back than Bo Jackson, and Joe Adams was a better returner than Derek Abney.